powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

January 16, 2005 - 11:57 a.m.

Changes Big and Small

There's not much exciting going on in my life so far this year. I've been getting back into the swing of things at work, which mostly entails nagging the kids about homework and cleaning up after themselves. The news about the kids is that B is really learning to read and just earned his yellow belt in taekwondo, and all three kids are becoming proficient skiers. It continues to amaze me to think back to when I came to work for this family more than three years ago. Back then B was still in diapers, M sucked her thumb and still wore dresses on occasion, and H had bangs and could barely read. Now B is learning to read and insists on tucking in his shirts, M has braces and is possibly the most popular girl in her class, and H constantly has her nose buried in a book and is knitting a scarf for her best friend. It is really fun to see them becoming real people and growing into their unique personalities. At the same time, though, my job is really less involving than it used to be. The kids are all in school during the day, and when they aren't, our time is consumed with activities, chores, and homework. We have little time for the fun stuff. So, as much as I will miss the kids when I am no longer seeing them every day, I think it is the right time for me to be taking steps to move on.

Anyway, it's been a really nice weekend. On Friday night, most of my friends gathered for our annual Secret Satan party. It's like a Yankee Swap, except the point is to bring gifts that are hilariously awful, tacky, or ridiculous. We've been doing it for four years, I think, and it is always a highlight of the holidays. I usually end up laughing so hard my eyes water, and this year was no exception. Some gift highlights were a padded toilet seat ebroidered with a family of geese, a life-size cutout of W, Gigli DVD, and a self-help book based on the reality show, The Swan.

Yesterday I went to a friend's house for a games fest. I got to play Boggle, Taboo, Thing, and Man Bites Dog. I also got to have a great conversation about discovering what one is passionate about with two of my friends. It's so awesome to have that sort of talk and really feel like I am getting to know them better. The people I surround myself with are one of the most important things in my life, so it's nice to strengthen those connections.

In other news, on Friday I also took the second step on the Road to Red, in terms of my hair. I don't have any pictures, yet, but I am very happy with how it turned out. It's a subtle change from last time, just a little less blonde and a little more red. Very fun. And my hairdresser said that over the next few times I have my hair colored the red will come out a little more each time. I like that, since it allows me to make the change gradually, so that I don't show up at work or the hospital one day suddenly a redhead. The color I am aiming for is not totally red, but more what my friends and I in high school referred to as "strawberry brown", but at any rate it will be nice ot make the change a little at a time.

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005