powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

August 27, 2004 - 5:35 p.m.

Cloud Nine

This has been a fabulous week! The best part is, I got a part in Little Shop of Horrors! And not just any part, but one of the three "urchins" who play a key supporting role in the show. I wasn't cast as a specific one of the three; they'll figure that out based on our ranges and which part gets which solos during the first rehearsal on Sunday. Crystal, Ronette, and Chiffon pretty much work as a unit, though, so I don't particularly care what name I end up with. :)

The lesser goodness of the week came from well-behaved kids, watching B successfully test for his yellow stripe (a prerequisite for the yellow belt and his first promotional test) in taekwondo, gorgeous weather, a great volunteer shift at the hospital, and the US Women's team winning the soccer gold. Sadly, I didn't get to see more than a couple minutes of the gold medal match, but I did watch the highlights later in the day. It looks like it was a great game, and a heck of an exit for the veterans like Mia Hamm, Brandi Chastain, Joy Fawcett, et al. Even as a replay, seeing Abby Wambach, who is one of my favorite players, head in the winning goal was really exciting.

Hopefully the weekend will be even half as wonderful as the week has been. I am hoping to get together with friends tomorrow to do something fun to celebrate my part in the play.

Oh, I almost forgot to relate a cute anecdote. Yesterday, when I was hugging the kids goodbye after work, they asked why I was in a hurry. So, I told them I was auditioning for a play and that I hoped to get picked to be in the show. H replied, "Well, you're good at it, so of course they'll pick you." It was especially flattering coming from her, since, unlike her younger siblings, H never kisses up.

On the agenda for tonight, a quiet evening at home after all the nerves, adrenaline, singing, and dancing from three straight nights of auditions. Oh, and I will probably take a look at the application for the Hopkins Child Life program, since it's due in about a month. Eeek!

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005