powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

May 05, 2004 - 8:26 p.m.

Simply Sinful

Maybe it's because I was raised Catholic, but this meme appealed to me. Could also have something to do with my tendency towards introspection at the moment. I got it from KassRachel.

SEVEN DEADLY SINS

WRATH

Who did you last get angry with?

Sam, of course. That's likely to be my answer to that question for at least another week or so, though I am sure it will be interrupted here and there by H or B, M can be exasperating but almost never makes me angry.

Would you hit a member of the opposite sex?

Well, I am one of those people that playfully and jokingly hits people on a regular basis regardless of gender. I've certainly felt like slapping guys in earnest before, but I don't think I have followed through.

Who was the last person that got really angry at you?

That was almost certainly B, possibly this morning for being so cruel as to make him go to school.

What is your pet peeve?

Gosh, there are too many! Today I guess people who have trophy children top the list.

Do you keep grudges, or can you let them go easily?

Generally, I am forgiving to a fault. Witness the fact that Sam got the opportunity to dump me twice and that it would take a gargantuan effort of will to not forgive him again if he asked. People who hurt my friends repeatedly, though, don't get the benefit of my forgiveness very often.

SLOTH

What is one thing you're supposed to do daily that you haven't done in a long time?

Wash dishes. I am super conscientious about doing dishes and loading/unloading the dishwasher upstairs in the family's part of the house. The few dishes I use down here, though, tend to sit in the sink for days at a time.

What is the latest you've ever woken up?

Probably around noon, though I haven't slept that late in years. I seem to be naturally inclined to wake around 8AM.

Name a person you've been meaning to contact, but haven't.

My friend Laura in New York. We tend to be woefully out of touch, but can lapse back into our old, easy friendship on a moment's notice.

What is the last lame excuse you've made?

"Because I said so." Yeah, I use that one a lot. Mostly when I am irked that the kids are questioning my judgement or I don't feel like explaining my reasoning.

When was the last time you got a good workout in?

Ugh. A week ago. Between the breakup and one or another of the kids being home sick from school I've had neither the inclination nor much opportunity to get to the gym.

How many times did you hit the snooze button on your alarm clock today?

Two.

GLUTTONY

What is your overpriced yuppie beverage of choice?

Caramel Frappucino. So yummy. :)

White meat or dark meat?

White.

What is the greatest amount of alcohol you've had in one sitting/outing/event?

I am not sure, though it seems highly likely that it was at a Smash Night. It's hard to keep track of how much one is drinking while playing video games. Oddly, none of the Smash Nights has gotten me the most drunk I have ever been. That would have to be my friend A's bachelorette party. What a night THAT was!

Have you ever used a professional diet company?

No. I've dieted off and on for years, but have never been successful. For the past couple of years, I have focused more on just getting into the habit of eating healthier, and I have mostly been successful.

Do you have an issue with your weight?

Not a big one. I'd like to lose a few pounds, but I am in decent shape, and that's a little more important to me than my weight.

Do you prefer sweets, salty foods, or spicy foods?

Generally sweets, though my periodic cravings for salty foods are pretty hard core.

Have you ever taken food "to go" from a buffet?

Other than the occasional cookie or roll, no.

LUST

How many people have you seen naked (not counting movies/family)?

Hard to count... a couple of models for art class, a bunch of folks in a friend's hot tub (I was neither in the tub nor naked, though), etc. Maybe 10-15?

How many people have seen YOU naked (not counting physicians/family)?

Umm, not counting random sightings while I am changing at the gym, probably between 5 and 10.

Have you ever caught yourself staring at the chest/crotch of a member of your gender of choice during a normal conversation?

Not that I can remember.

Have you wanted someone who was taken?

Well, yeah. I went through a couple of ridiculous crushes on unattainable guys in high school. Actually, one of the most shocking moments of my life was when I found out a couple of years ago that one of that had, in fact, had a crush on ME at one point. That just massively retroactively changed my view of my nerdy high school self. :)

What is your favorite body part on a person of your gender of choice?

It varies, but I have a thing for what I call "soccer player legs". Yum.

Have you ever been propositioned by a prostitute?

Wow. No.

Have you ever had a one night stand?

No. And I think it's relatively unlikely I ever will. Sort of out of character.

GREED

How many credit cards do you own?

One. I've had as many as three, but learned the credit lesson the hard way back when I was overworked and underpaid.

What's your guilty pleasure?

Gossip. A combination of my natural curiosity and a somewhat variable self-esteem.

If you had $1 million, what would you do with it?

Buy a house (well, put a substantial down payment on one anyway), go to New Zealand, invest in an inn or bed and breakfast that my parents could run.

Would you rather be rich or famous?

Definitely rich. I would enjoy a modest amount of renown, but would not want to be famous. I couldn't deal with being at the mercy of fans and/or papparazi.

Would you accept a boring job if it meant you would make megabucks?

That's a tough call. Since I tend to be content working for peanuts, I doubt it. Then again, if I could rake in the dough for a handful of years and be free to follow my passions from then on, I think it would be worth it.

Have you ever stolen anything?

I've taken magazines from the gym and a book from an inn. And when I was a kid I accidently shoplifted a replacement Christmas bulb that my mom asked me to hold and I pocketed.

How many mp3's are on your hard drive?

Not as many as most people. Since I don't work at my computer, and am usually watching tv when I use it, I don't play music on it much. The mp3s I have are mostly ones I have used to make mix CDs.

PRIDE

What's one thing have you done that you're most proud of?

Taking my mom on a cruise last winter. She really deserved a vacation, and enjoyed it so much that it was more than worth every penny I spent.

What's one thing have you done that your parents are most proud of?

I think Mom and Dad would give different answers. Mom would probably be most proud of my independence: things like being willing and able to travel and vacation alone. Dad is probably most proud of my adaptability - that I can be content just about anywhere I find myself.

What thing would you like to accomplish in your life?

I can't possibly pick one specific things, so I will have to go general. I'd like to be able to look back on my life and know that I had lived it fully. I don't want to have to dwell on wasted opportunities in my old age.

Do you get annoyed by coming in second place?

Sometimes. Mostly, while I love winning, I don't mind losing.

Have you ever entered a contest of skill, knowing you were of much higher skill than all the other competitors?

Not that I recall.

Have you ever cheated on something to get a higher score?

Nope.

What did you do today that you're proud of?

Was kind and caring toward the kids even though I really didn't feel like it at first.

ENVY

What item of your friend's would you most want to have for your own?

A boyfriend who knows how lucky he is to have me.

If you could be anyone else in the world, who would you be?

A musical theater actress or singer on a cruise ship. Sounds weird, but I would love to get paid to sing, be able to travel, yet not have to deal with the travails of being a celebrity.

Have you ever been cheated on?

Yes.

Have you ever cheated on someone?

No. Like the one night stand thing, it would be quite out of character.

Have you ever wished you had a physical feature different from your own?

I'd give a lot to not be cross-eyed.

What trait do you see in others that you wish you had for yourself?

I really wish I didn't care so much what other people think of me.

What is your favorite deadly sin?

Gluttony, without a doubt. I'm a foodie, and unlike most of the deadly sins, gluttony is unlikely to hurt anyone else - unless you're hoarding food from malnourished children or something.

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005