powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

March 07, 2004 - 8:24 p.m.

Happy Endings

I finished reading The Secret Life of Bees last night. It is another book that I would recommend to just about anyone. The story was simple yet compelling, and the characters were interesting and fairly well rounded. It had a happy ending that made me smile and wasn't saccharine or highly unlikely. As much as I love it when a story (in book, movie, or TV form) breaks with convention and forgoes the happy ending, I still enjoy an uplifting ending in which most of the loose ends are taken care of in a pleasant fashion. The book was very serious in places, so that made the ending that much more satisfying.

This afternoon, I enjoyed another happy ending, when I went to see "Miracle". It was a really inspiring movie. I was only five when the 1980 Winter Olympics actually happened, so I was too young to be aware of the US victory. The story is wonderful, though, and I am glad I went to see the movie. I am sure some aspects of the characters and their road to Olympic gold were glossed over or left out entirely. For instance, I found myself wondering whether some of the players were the type who wanted to "beat the Commie bastards." The movie plays up the rivalry with the Soviets as a battle of underdogs against a supposedly unstoppable team. Still, even if the movie portrayed a rosy version of the competition, it was a great movie, and I was really moved by it. I love a story in which the underdog triumphs in spectacular fashion.

It's getting close to bedtime, so I must go. For once, I hope to go to bed on time on a Sunday night and start my work week off well rested. We'll see, but I don't have a book in progress to keep me up, so maybe I have a shot. :)

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005