powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

February 15, 2004 - 7:07 a.m.

Firsts

I leave for San Diego, in just a few hours. In fact, I leave the house in less then one hour. Hopefully I will have an uneventful trip. It should be full of firsts, though.

This trip will include:

- my first time in the Chicago airport - I have a three hour layover in which to truly revel in the experience :)

- my first visit to the West Coast

- my first sighting of the Pacific Ocean (and the forecast calls for a high of 75 on Tuesday, so hopefully my first swim in said body of water, too)

- my first stay in accomodations that cater to gay men and are self-described as "clothing optional". It was the cheapest, most convenient choice, but I, at least, will be keeping my clothes on.

- my first chance to hand feed a giraffe

- my first visit to an old Spanish mission

- my first visit to the hometown of Dr. Seuss

My internet access will probably be sporadic and brief while I am away, so don't expect to hear from me. I will, as always, update thoroughly on my return!

By the way, Valentine's Day was fun. I got to talk to Sam, had a nice long talk on the phone with my mom, and went to see Girl With a Pearl Earring with my brother and a friend. The movie was gorgeous - filmed in a style that perfectly evoked the gorgeous lighting and composition of Vermeer's paintings - and we had a great time chatting over dinner afterwards.

today's project: getting ready before my cab arrives

musing about: exploring a new place

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005