powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

October 23, 2003 - 2:36 p.m.

Brrrr!

It snowed here today. And the temperature is only in the 30s. SOmetimes I hate New England! I woke up this morning to a light dusting of snow on the ground and more falling every minute. Luckily there wasn't any accumulation on the roads, so driving was fine. That was good, since I had a lot of driving to deal with this morning. First I had to drive all three kids to the dentist so that H could have the wires on her braces changed and adjusted. Then I had to get them all to school. Then I went to the grocery store. Between the snow, the disruption in the morning's routine, and thinking about what to wear to the theater tonight (more on that in a bit), I was so discombobulated at the store that I totally forgot to visit the produce section! I only realized the mistake once I was almost back at home. I decided to continue on to the house, unpack the groceries I had, and just go back for the rest later. Boy, did I feel like an idiot!

Luckily, my brain seems to be functioning a bit better now that the snow has melted (though it is still really cold and raw out). I have even figured out what to wear tonight. My mom got me tickets to see "Stomp" for my birthday, so my friend Torie and I are going tonight. The package includes dinner as well, so it should be a really fun girls night out. I am leaving a bit early from work today so that I can pick Torie up and we'll have time for dinner before the show. That means at some point this afternoon I have to sqeeze in some time between demands from the children to put on my makeup and do my hair. That way I just have to change into my skirt and nicer shoes for the evening. I would have just gotten ready this morning, but today was not a good day for walking around in dress shoes and a skirt, and my makeup would have suffered quite a bit from the blowing, wet snow, I think.

It's been an odd week, and I am glad it is almost over. I feel like I have done my job really well, planning plenty of projects to keep the kids busy and being unusually patient for the most part, this week, but I have been really worn out in the evenings. It'll be nice to have the weekend to catch up on sleep and have some peace and quiet.

today's project: digging out winter coats and hats and gloves - it's cold out there!

musing about: the yummy dinner in store and a cool show

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005