powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

October 15, 2003 - 8:29 p.m.

Game On, Baby!

This entry is dedicated to my little brother, who, despite having never lived any closer to NY than Missouri or Tennessee, decided to become a Yankees fan.

You cannot imagine my excitement right now! Despite having spent the vast majority of the past two hours on the couch with my eyes glued to the TV, I think my heart rate is well into my target zone for working out! Once again, with their backs up against the wall, the Red Sox have pulled off a beautiful win. Nomar Garciaparra finally managed to give his bat a solid introduction to the ball. The rest of the Red Sox offense came alive as well, including home runs from my boys Jason Varitek and Trot Nixon. Our pitching staff really came through, too. Burkett was not exactly stellar, but the relievers were incredible despite the pressure of being in Yankee Stadium with elimination staring them in the face. Final score was 9-6, by far the highest scoring game of this series.

I am by no means confident that we will win tomorrow, even with Pedro on the mound. However, unlike today before the game, I am quite hopeful. Sure the Sox still have to win to stay alive and to make it to the World Series - that much was true before they won this evening. The big difference, not that the series is tied with three games each, is that now the Yankees are in a must win situation as well.

I want to take a moment to tell you how much I love the Boston Red Sox. I don't mean the team as an abstract entity, but the actual group of players who make up the team this year. Not only are they some incredible athletes, but there is a spirit to this team that cannot be rivaled. Even the TV commentators have remarked on it. This is a team that has an immense sense of camaraderie and an amazingly positive attitude. With players often being traded from team to team and following their wallets rather than loyalty, that sort of cohesion is extremely rare in modern baseball, and it is a fact that endears the men who are the Boston Red Sox to me.

I was supposed to be roleplaying tomorrow night. I haven't played Dungeons and Dragons in years, but my former housemate is starting a campaign and I decided it would be a fun way to spend a weeknight. Our first session of actual roleplaying was supposed to be tomorrow evening, which is when the final game of the ALCS will now be played. Now? Not gonna happen. :) Too many of us are Red Sox fans to try to tear ourselves away from that game! I may still get together with some of them to watch the game, though. I have watched all the other games in my room by myself, but I think for Game 7 with two future hall-of-famers pitching I may need some company.

Aside from baseball, life is pretty good. The kids have been fun and mostly cooperative this week, and my attitude and energy level have been up as well. I am starting to get excited about being in the play, too. I am still a little disappointed that I didn't get a solo role, but I can't wait to be singing show tunes, learning dance routines, and generally hamming it up again. And fall continues to be breathtaking. Today was one of those blustery days went from dark and rainy to sunny to mostly cloudy and back to sunny again.

Best of all, Sam surprised me by sending me a new mix CD in the mail. It has an eclectic assortment of songs from artists as disparate as Dar Williams and Radiohead, and it is very cool.

Enough outta me. Go Red Sox!!!

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005