powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

October 14, 2003 - 8:57 a.m.

Worth The Wait?

I finally got to see the Meet Me In St Louis cast list this morning... I got a spot in the ensemble, yay! After all the delays and website unavailability (the list was actually posted last night, but the site had exceeded its bandwidth so I couldn't see it until this morning) the revelation was a little anticlimactic. It made me realize I had really hoped for a speaking role, since finding out I was in the chorus wasn't all that exciting. Still, it will be fun to be back on a stage, in a costume, etc. I'm sure it will be fun.

Yesterday was a great day. I went for a nice bike ride, and the weather was absolutely perfect for it. I think I am going to try to go for a bike ride or rollerblading every weekend until the weather gets too cold.

After my ride, I walked around the town center where I park for the bike path. I was hoping to find a gift for a certain person whose birthday was almost two months ago, but no luck. I did find a lovely little cafe for a late lunch. I sat out on the patio and read while I ate my yummy and healthy lunch of veggie soup and salad. Of course, I spoiled the health factor by being unable to resist the tiramisu for dessert!

Then I went to see Casa de los Babys. which was a good movie, though the ending was a bit enigmatic. In many ways it felt a lot more like a documentary than a work of fiction. I think that is largely due to the lack of a driving plot. The point of the film seemed to be more about getting to know the characters and the dire living conditions for children and families in the unspecified South American country than telling a specific story. Parts of the film were very depressing and others were quite funny. In particular, this exchange cracked me up, "She's a sociopath!" "Is that like a psychopath?" "With a lower body count, yeah."

After the movie, I came home and settled in for the game. We won 3-2. It was really fun to watch. Everyone played well, though our star hitters are still doing nothing to help us win games. Our pitching staff, and Tim Wakefield in particular, was incredible! Wakefield is now primarily responsible for both of our wins in this series! That is highly unexpected. While our offensive stars have been slumping, players like Trot Nixon and Todd Walker have been stepping up to keep this team competitive. They both hit home runs last night, which was fun to see. We really needed that win. The series is now tied at two games each, and I think the Boston Fans are feeling a lot less anxious now. A win this afternoon would make this town ecstatic, I think. I like our chances if we can head to Yankee Stadium needing only one win.

Since I stayed up late for the game, I am quite tired this morning. I think I am going to go try to take a nap before I have to go run some errands. I get to squeeze the kids all into the Jeep today, which is always a challenge. Their dad had to take the Sequoia to the dealership because the battery died a couple times this weekend. This car is only a couple months old!

today's project:another Red Sox win

musing about: uh... my head is pretty empty at the moment :)

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005