powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

July 14, 2003 - 12:07 p.m.

Back On The Job

So far, the first day back at work with the kids has gone pretty well. I did not start the day in a great mood, and my heart wasn't really in my work, but things have improved from there. After two weeks of nearly uninterrupted sunshine, today dawned gray and cool, which, I am sure, affected my enthusiasm level. The kids were disappointed that it wasn't a good day for going to the pool, as was I.

Another contributing factor is that I am nearing the climax in A Game of Thrones, so I begrudge any task that tears me away from it for more than a few minutes at a time. :) There is a drawback, I guess, to being such an avid reader. I have managed to steal a moment here and there to read while the kids eat and such.

Instead of going to the pool, we decided to visit the library and the nearby Clydesdale farm. The girls are turning into voracious readers - each made tons of progress during the past year - and Brian loves to be read to, so the library is usually a big hit. After picking out lots of books and reading a handful of them aloud (I love how I always attract stray children when I start reading to my charges at the library!), we headed off to see the horses. A trip to this particular farm is always fun, since you are allowed to feed carrots or apples to the horses. The kids were all smiles as the huge animals slobbered on them, whinnied, and tried to eat their hair. :)

So, half the day has been successfully frittered away. Now the rugrats are happily playing in the fort I helped them build. Some childhood pastimes are truly timeless! They are mostly managing to have a good time without too many tussles over the prime locations for curling up with a book or whose turn it is to go through the cushion tunnel. Sometimes I let those little squabbles irritate me and forget to just stand back and let them try to settle the disputes themselves. Of course, I can't stand too far back or the youngest might try to settle it with a good, hard shove.

I think I'll go try to read a bit while they are happily occupied. Before long it will be time to square off for the epic battle of the first nap after a two-week hiatus... It'll be interesting to see how that goes!

today's project: the classic art of fort building

musing about: how long peace will last between the rival factions in Fort Munchkin

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005