powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 08, 2003 - 9:45 a.m.

Operation Rodent Rescue

First of all, I finally got the guestbook html to work! So, please click on the icon to the left and sign the guestbook so I know who's reading. Thanks!

Yesterday I managed to save a mouse from probable capture and death at the paws of the family cat, Spike. Last winter, Spike's mousing abilities were such that he left me several small, fuzzy, dead gifts around my living space. Ugh. I hate dealing with dead things. On the other hand, I think live mice are cute, and, provided they don't get into my food, I really don't mind if they invade my space. This winter I hadn't seen any signs of mice, living or dead.

Then, yesterday, as I was attempting to nap on my couch, I caught a glimpse of a small, fuzzy, grey blur skittering across my floor. The wee rodent promptly disappeared, and I spent the rest of the day in fear that I would find it dead somewhere. I was very careful to watch where I put my feet down! Last night my phone rang, and when I got up to answer it, I spotted the mouse again. He ran away as I passed, but stopped by the pile of bags I had dropped on the floor upon my return from Charlottesville. I managed to slowly cover him with the cover of my sewing machine. There he was forced to stay until I found a large and stiff enough piece of cardboard to slide under the cover so I could carry the interloper outside.

I felt kind of bad to put him out, as it was literally freezing out there and snow was on the way. I couldn't really do anything else, though, since if I tried to keep him inside the cat might get to him, or he might pass on a disease to Percy. So I decided to put him out by our rock wall where several chipmunks live, in hopes he could find a cozy hole in which to spend the rest of his mousy days.

That was my adventure for yesterday. :)

This morning I did my federal taxes, and I will telefile the state ones later. I have a substantial refund coming, which is very nice. I also got to sleep in a bit, since Susan was home this morning before accompanying H's class on a field trip to go see Pippi Longstocking. It's nice to have a morning off from the near-constant nagging necessary to get the kids off to school in the morning!

Now I am off to the gym. Don't forget to sign the guestbook!

today's project: gymnastics class

musing about: doing a sun dance to get some warm weather around here!

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005