powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 07, 2003 - 10:38 a.m.

Visit Details

I woke up this morning in a really down mood. I am not entirely sure why, but I think it may be due to returning to reality after such a nice weekend. Now that I am home, I am faced with not seeing Sam for an entire month, and that both frightens and sort of depresses me. It also didn't helpt that I didn't get a full night's sleep last night, since I got home late. After being silly with the kids this morning and then taking a nap once they were all off to school, I feel a little better.

The weekend was very low-key and nice. Thursday evening was the only awkward time. It was obvious we were both thrilled to see one another, but neither one of us really knew how to act under the circumstances. That was a short period of time, though, since we just talked for a little while and then both went to bed. By Friday morning the tension had lessened.

On Friday we got up, made smoothies for breakfast, I helped him run some errands, and then dropped him off at the law school for his classes. While he was gone, I made a picnic dinner to take on our hike that afternoon. I made fruit salad, a green salad, cornbread, oven-fried chicken, and homemade sweet potato chips. Once Sam was done with classes, we headed for the hike on Ragged Mountain, which was really more of a hill. Still, the trail circled a small lake and we saw spring wildflowers, blooming redwood trees, and some Canadian geese. It was an easy, but pretty hike. It gave us a chance to talk and enjoy an activity we've shared since the beginning of our relationship. Afterwards, we headed back to Sam's apartment for dessert, key lime bars, and watched TV and hung out until bedtime. It was a really nice day.

Saturday was a very quiet day. Sam got some work done in the morning, and then we went out for lunch, visited the local pet store (another of our favorite things to do together), and such. That night, Sam cooked dinner for me - yummy black bean and spinach quesadillas and scrumptious caramel sundaes with calicos (calicos are our name for a bar we created that's kind of like a blondie with oatmeal and coconut in the batter and white chocolate and butterscotch chips in additions to the chocolate chips). After dinner I watched TV while Sam studied then we watched the Iron Chef, King of Iron Chefs, battle between Chen and Kobe. It was a great episode.

On Sunday we got up and went running (we needed to work off those sundaes and the greasy lunch we had at Applebee's the day before). We briefly went in to the law school so he could pick a few things up and I could check my email. In the afternoon we grilled a delicious lunch of pork chops with curried mango sauce, herbed zucchini, and sweet potato wedges. Yum. We played some video games and I showed off my pictures from Venice. Before we knew it, it was time for me to leave. Neither of us was happy about that, so it was a lingering, hug-filled goodbye.

It was a really good weekend. We were both pretty open about our feelings both past and present. I think we both knew that being back together was right almost from the start. Despite both our fears, we are still incredibly comfortable together. It's so easy for us to talk about almost anything (our conversations ranged from discussions of the war - a subject on which we are in almost complete agreement - to the stresses of daily life, to video games). We are good at making each other laugh, and we have a wonderful mutual respect, as well. The foundation of the relationship we had is still clearly there. And I think it is safe to say that Sam has worked through some of the doubts and questions he had, and I feel renewed confidence that together we have something pretty special. I still need to regain some of the trust that was lost, and I am sure there will be other kinks to work out along the way, but I think it is safe to say we have a relationship again. Yay. :)

In other news. Snow is forecast for this evening. We're not talking a spring dusting, either. They are predicting in the vicinity of 5 inches. Ugh. I am not happy and am considering a move to Florida or Arizona.

today's project: indoor bowling using 1 liter plastic soda bottles

musing about: whether we're going to have fluke snowstorms in July

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005