powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

December 16, 2002 - 7:31 p.m.

Singing in the Snow!

So, the Boston Gay Men's Chorus concert, entitled Nutcracker: Men in Tights, was a blast. The first half consisted of various Christmas (and one Hannukah) carols sung by the 175 member chorus in tuxes. They did a great job. Some of the carols were new ones commissioned for the chorus, and they were interesting, pretty modern with interesting harmonies and somewhat irregular rhythms. The Hannukah carol was lovely, and they did a stunning arrangement ot Silent Night that really moved me. The version of Joy to the World, however, was atrocious! It was as thought the arranger just decided to throw any concept of flow or musical theory to the wind and just play around with the meter, mood, and chords of the piece. The result was little better than cacophony. I am fine with throwing something new into traditional pieces, but this was only recognizable as the old carol from the lyrics and moved without transition from a slow, almost dischordant style, to a bright, sort of fugue. Ugh, what a mess.

Then, after intermission, came the Nutcrcacker portion of the program. Most of the chorus was still on risers in tuxes, but about a quarter of them took on parts in the "ballet" put on by Madame Anastasia's School of Tap, Ballet, and Decoupage. :) The chorus sang all the familiar Nutcracker tunes with words added, while the "dancers" played out the scenes. Clara was replaced by Clarence, nonetheless dressed as a girl, the Sugar Plum Fairy was a hairy guy in pink lame on a sugar high, and the mice were all dressed as Mousketeers! I really can't describe it in a way that would do it justice. The choreography was actually good, though rudimentary. I suspect that the guy who played the Nutcracker has actually done some ballet. Oh, and i forgot to mention that when the men actually were in tights certain areas were, shall we say... enhanced. It was a good laugh.

Know what else was a laugh? The concert was partly sponsored by the Gilette company and KY Liquid! The were even giving out samples of KY at intermission. Oh my!

On a more serious note, the concert reminded me quite forcibly, that I really miss singing. For anyone who doesn't know me, I have been singing fairly seriously since I was in 7th grade. My first solo was that year as Prince Edward (shush - it was an all girls school!) in Christmas at Hampton Court. After that I sang in choruses and small ensembles as well as in school and community musicals. Then in college, I was in an a capella group that performed mostly madrigals and other Renaissance music, called the Elizabethans. We're celebrating the group's ten year anniversary in January with a big reunion and concert. I can't wait. Anyway, post-college, I sang with a church choir that went on a trip to Greece and the Czech Republic. But, for the past four years, my singing has been limited to the shower, and preschool sing-alongs of such classics as Three Little Fishies, I Know an Old Lady, and Maggelina Haggelina. Not sufficient to satisfy the diva lying hidden in my soul. :) So, my early New Year's resolution is to seriously look for chorus and musical theater opportunities.

In other news, the rain from the weekend washed away all the snow, but it was replaced today with three or four inches of wet, heavy snow that has clung beautifully to every pine needle and tree branch. It truly was a winter wonderland out there today!

I really must go now that I have bored you all to tears. I STILL have Christmas cards to write, a scrapbook to finish, and baking to do... There simply aren't enough hours in the day!

Twitter away!

bafleyanne - 2002-12-16 19:35:41
Hey, you didn't bore me! I'd love to see the Boston Gay Men's Chorus...maybe sometime I can come up and go with you. :)
-------------------------------

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005