powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 16, 2005 - 9:58 p.m.

Feathered Friends

Life has been pretty uneventful around here, so there isn't much to report. I did get to a Red Sox game yesterday. It was cold (in the low 40's when the game started), but it was really fun, especially since the Sox creamed the Devil Rays 10-0. And we got to see David Ortiz hit a grand slam, which was awesome. There was a cool surprise, too. Alison Krauss and Union Station sang the national anthem. My dad really likes them, and after hearing their music in O Brother, Where Art Thou, I became an admirer, too. So, it was really nifty to hear them at the ballpark.

When not watching Red Sox games, lately, I've been watching the birds at my new birdfeeder. I bought and hung it last Saturday, and it has been very busy ever since. The birds have already gone through a gallon of birdseed. I've seen titmice, chickadees, cardinals, bluejays, goldfinches, sparrows, mourning doves, and house finches. Today the weather was gorgeous, and the birds all seemed to want to partake at the Little Bird Cafe. I took a few pictures to share:


A white-breasted sparrow. Aren't the stripes on his head cool?

Papa Cardinal.

A goldfinch and a house finch.

A better shot of some house finches.

The seed the birds drop on the ground isn't going to waste. It attracted this adorable red squirrel.

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005