powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

January 24, 2005 - 9:02 a.m.

Blizzard

All told, we got around two feel of snow here at my house. Several places around Boston got a lot more, particularly the coastal areas. This is the most snow I have ever seen, at least that I remember. My parents might be able to tell me about worse storms from my childhood before we moved down south. There was actually a worse blizzard in February 2003, but I, happily, missed that one, because I was on a Caribbean cruise with my mom. :)

Schools are closed today, and many are also closed tomorrow, but so far not my town. This generally means more work for me, since the kids are home all day. I am still free for now, though, since the family isn't back from the lake house yet. I expect them soon, and then we get to begin the digging out process. I don't know how to operate our snowblower, and our driveway and walkway are far too long for me to clear on my own with a shovel. I did go out this morning to look around a bit and see what it's like to wade through that much snow. It was pretty and kind of fun, but I wouldn't want to do it for very long. Plus, temperatures are in the single digits with wind chills below zero. It's only January, and it has already been a pretty fierce winter. It's nothing compared to the conditions my grandmother commonly endures in northern Wisconsin, but it still kind of makes me want to move to Hawaii.

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005