powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

January 21, 2005 - 5:30 p.m.

Brrrrr!

Last Friday when I left the house in the morning, it was about 60 degrees outside. Today, it was -2! Weird. Highs have been in the 20's or lower all week, and this morning was the coldest so far this winter, but there's more winter weather on the way.

We're supposed to get a serious snowstorm tomorrow night. It is expected to deposit 12-18 inches of snow here at my house, and areas south of Boston could get two feet! Though we've been getting snow pretty regularly this winter in small amounts, it's been a long time since we had a storm that big. Of course, the possible blizzard is still about 24 hours away, so things could certainly change. At any rate, I should probably go to the grocery store this evening, since it may well be mobbed tomorrow. Back when I lived in the South, people used to rush to the store and stock up on bread, bottled water, and canned goods when even a dusting of snow is predicted. At least up here the mad rush to the market is saved for when we expect a foot or more. :)

I am now officially enrolled in the two classes I will be taking at the local community college. I am taking Infants and Toddlers as well as Art and Music for Young Children. It will be strange to be a student again after more than seven years, but I don't expect the courses to be too difficult. I have my first class on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, work continues pretty much as usual. Really nothing new to report there. I do have some time off coming in both February, when the kids have a week off from school and the family will be up at the lake house, and March, when they'll be at Disneyworld for a few days. I don't think I will be taking any major trips, since I shouldn't skip too many classes, and I am trying to save money so that I won't be entirely broke when I eventually land one of those unpaid internships. However, I am considering spending a few days in NYC to visit museums and see a Broadway show or two, hopefully while getting to see a couple of friends.

Time to brave the cold again to stock up on Diet Coke and junk food to get me through the weekend.

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005