powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

August 16, 2004 -

Games On

I've loved the Olympic Games since I was a kid. Back then, I pretty much only watched gymnastics in the summer and figure skating in the winter. Now, my interest has broadened, but my childhood fascination with the event has remained. The Olympics appeal to my competitive side, my patriotic side, and my idealistic side. I love the idea of so many competitors coming from around the globe to pull out all the stops in the name of their country. The blend of camaraderie and competition suits my multi-faceted personality. Plus, the Games mean that every four years (two if you count the Winter Games as well) I have yet another excuse to sit on my couch for hours glued to the TV. :)

This year's Olympics have brought new interests and renewed old ones. I've become entranced with synchronized diving, though I wouldn't really call it a sport, per se. I watched the US women's volleyball opener against China, which they lost, and it reminded me how much I love to watch volleyball. It's a beautiful combination of individual prowess and team synergy, and it is easy to follow, yet fast paced and exciting. Sadly the US team was not playing all that well, but I could see glimmers of their possibilities, so my hopes are still high for them. I haven't yet gotten to watch any soccer, though I am very much looking forward to it. Several of the players on the women's team are familiar from last year's US World Cup team that I got to see in DC. It'll be fun to see Mia Hamm and company on the field again.

Gymnastics, long one of my favorite events, has attracted renewed interest from me this year. H and M will be on a local gymnastics team this year, so it will be fun to watch the competition with that in mind and discuss it with the girls. It looks like both the men's and women's US teams are strong this year, too, which will make things more interesting. I grew up in the prime of US gymnastics, so the overall mediocrity of the teams in recent Olympics has been disappointing.

I'll also be keeping an eye on track and field and swimming. Now that I have dated a college track team captain, my perpective on those events has changed. I have a greater appreciation for the strength, training, and strategy that translates into speed on the track. With so many competitors, it is hard to find personalities to latch on to, but it's still fun to watch the runners fly down the track and root for the US athletes.

I recently heard a commentator saying that swimming isn't a very popular event (at least for Olympic TV broadcasts) because it tends to be impersonal. Closeups are difficult to get, and the faces of the competitors are rarely visible during the races. I thought this perspective was interesting, but it doesn't seem to apply to me. I am absolutely flabbergasted by the power of swimmers. Watching a backstroke race yesterday, it was incredible to watch the hill of water under the swimmers' heads created by the force with which they propel themselves through the water. I think one of the reasons it impressed me so much is that humans are not naturally built to be swimmers. Watching runners, especially sprinters, is impressive, but it loses some impact with the knowledge that our bodies are built to run (though admittedly not that fast). Our status as upright, terrestrial creatures makes the achievements of first class swimmers awe inspiring.

And as a parting note, I have to applaud the return of the laurel wreath for the Athens games. It is a nice touch, and a lovely nod to the rich history of the Games in Greece.

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005