powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

June 02, 2004 - 8:09 p.m.

Thinking Inside The Box

Got a fun meme from Nadyezhda:

So, say you were meeting a new person--blind date, new friend, who knows. And you wanted them to have some idea of what kind of person you are, and who you are. But you can't actually tell them in so many words. Instead, you have to give them a box, with a dozen things in it for them to look at/read/listen to/taste/whatever.

What 12 things would you put in the box? And a copy of your journal or a link to your LiveJournal would be the same thing as just telling them directly, yourself, so that's not allowed.

I like the question as is, but I also like her spin on it, which was to ask readers to come up with a box to represent her. I'd love to know what items any of you would put in a box about me - suggest one or two if you can't come up with twelve.

My list is below, but post your own FIRST if you are going to do so, so that my answers don't influence yours.

1. a deep purple iris

2. a copy of Possession by A.S. Byatt

3. "the food of love" the CD by my college a capella group, The Elizabethans

4. a slice of my homemade caramel apple cheesecake

5. one of my cute yet practical pink flower sandals

6. a link to the Very Secret Diaries

7. a photo of the first preschool class I taught

8. a course catalog from Williams

9. one of Percy's quills

10. photo album/scrapbook of my various travels/cruises

11. my copy of the San Diego Wild Animal Park map

12. my charm bracelet (which now has two charms since I added a little silver pinecone in honor of the trip up to Pecos Baldy Lake)

I suspect on any given day this list would vary a bit, but I think I covered most of the basics. :)

today's project: supervising and guiding various workmen at the house... joy.

Did you know? The meerkat gets its name from the Afrikaans word for mongoose.

Twitter away!

Mom - 2004-06-03 23:54:18
1. A really good book; maybe " The Poisonwood Bible" 2. Music 3. A Tennessee iris 4. Pictures of kids of some sort 5. An airplane 6. A cross or celtic symbol of faith 7. A single dollar bill ( because you are smart with your money and can make a buck go a long way) 8. A magnet 9. Cute shoes of some sort 10. Apicture of your family. 11. A cookbook 12. A mango
-------------------------------

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005