powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

March 24, 2004 - 7:28 p.m.

No New Tale To Tell

Not much to say around here. I'm back to my relatively mundane life after the nice cozy weekend with Sam. And I am discovering there's little to say here about work when the kids are actually behaving. :) They've been doing chores and homework without complaining, mostly picking up after themselves, and actually getting along. It's really nice, but not so good for creating amusing anecdotes.

American Idol was not as great last night as last week was. May have been the country theme. I was surprised how much I enjoyed last week's soul theme. Sadly, Camille's performance of one of my favorite songs, Son of a Preacher Man, was sub par. This week she did another fave of mine, Desperado, and wasn't much better. Grrr. There are several really great singers on the show this season, though. Latoya is incredible. Fantasia is a lot of fun, and has a unique Macy Gray-ish voice. Jennifer has tons of personality and a big voice. And George's voice is stunning and he just makes me smile. There are others as well, but I think those four are the best. Interestingly, they are all African American. And in general I would say the women are way better than the men. Only four men made it to the final 12, and with the exception of George, they are good but not great. Already there's a lot of personality coming out, which is always fun. Simon, meanwhile has been totally bipolar. He really likes some singers, with good reason, but others he is totally harsh towards for little or no reason. That said there is a certain ephemeral element required in a real pop star that I probably can't recognize. It's also interesting to hear the judges comment on the performances the next night on the results show. They've made it clear that in the studio, things sound different, usually better. That might explain why everyone raved about Diana's performance last night when I thought she was off key in a couple of places. It'd be really interesting to know what it sounds like to the studio audience.

Anyway, my homemade baked sweet potato fries are ready (yum!), so off I go.

today's project: transporting the kids between school, playdates, a birthday party, and lessons, oh my!

Did you know? the family's cat loves pepperoni

consecutive workout days: 2 (yesterday I did strength AND cardio; today I did 40 minutes of cardio instead of the usual 3

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005