powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

October 27, 2003 - 8:16 p.m.

They Don't Want To Suck My Blood!

No, this isn't some twisted Halloween inspired vampire entry. I tried to give blood today. Who knew that getting a tattoo disqualifies you from donating blood for 12 months! I guess it makes sense, since they certainly can't be expected to verify whether I got my tattoo in a reputable and sanitary place. Still, it is disappointing, since giving blood is such an easy way to do something for others, and it never occurred to my that my six month old tattoos would pose a problem.

That was not the first hitch in my plans today. First I couldn't find a parking space at the gym, so I decided to come home and run on my employer's treadmill, but I couldn't find the safety key that is necessary to operate the machine. So, no workout for me today. Then in the afternoon, B and I got stuck at the house waiting for a problem with the alarm system to be solved. For about an hour I was back and forth on the phone between the alarm company and my employers trying to get and pass along information. Then they finally figured out that they would need to come out to the house, so the next hour was spent waiting for the technician to arrive and complete the work. Luckily, B was not nearly as needy of attention as he often is. He spent most of the afternoon playing very nicely by himself with his Rescue Heroes figures.

The day was not a total wash, though. While not at the gym, I went to a thrift store to look for components of my Halloween costume. I've decided to be Sally from The Nightmare Before Christmas. That idea beat out Alice In Wonderland (too boring), an ent (too hard to pull off), and Miss Tennessee (not inspired enough and almost too easy). I found a simple knit dress that I can add patchwork bits to with exaggerated stitches. Then I just need to draw stitching on my arms legs and face, and I might use fake eyelashes to achieve that very wide-eyed look Sally has. Pretty simple, but I think it's a fun costume. I just hope it is recognizable enough. I think among my circle of wacky friends it shouldn't be a problem. :)

Last night I had the first meeting and read through for Meet Me In St. Louis. The rehearsal schedule is... I think frenetic is the best word. Our first actual rehearsal is November 29 and the show opens December 19! With rehearsals, other than the final week of run throughs and dress rehearsals, happening entirely on Saturdays and Sundays! I'm a little concerned that the production is going to be very amateurish due to the time constraints, especially since more than 80% of the cast is under 18, but we'll see. The exciting bit of news, though, is that I have a tiny solo in one song. It's only about four lines long, but it's a chance to be in the limelight.

today's project: my Halloween crafty creativity continued with ghost shaped bean bags to toss into a haunted house b

musing about: another busy week ahead

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005