powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

October 05, 2003 - 9:41 p.m.

Well, Surprise, Surprise

What a weekend! I am exhausted! On top of being very busy, it has been very emotional.

First of all, with their playoff life on the line, the Red Sox managed to beat Oakland and force the series to game five. This despite having lost the first two games in the series and blowing their initial lead in today's game. Phew! And with Pedro Martinez on the mound for us tomorrow, and their pitcher coming in on only three days rest, I like our chances! Still, you never know...

I was left in suspense as to the outcome of the game for a while, as the final inning was played while I was in chorus rehearsal. I managed to sit in the car until the Sox finally came through with some fabulous clutch hitting to regain the lead in the bottom of the eighth, but had to go in to rehearsal after that. We were only ahead 5-4, and with our bullpen, there was no telling how the game would end! So, an hour later, as I left rehearsal to drive to the Meet Me In St. Louis auditions, I turned on the radio, with my heart in my throat, and shrieked with glee when I found out we won!

Sadly, not all the sports news today were pleasant surprises. I just watched the US Women's World Cup team get badly beaten by Germany. It was quite an upset, and it was a real bummer to see such a great team eliminated from the tournament. Boo!

Between following major sports tournaments, I did go to the musical auditions. I started getting nervous long before I even arrived, and stayed that way well into the audition process. I decided to sing "Somewhere That's Green" from Little Shop of Horrors, and I think it was a good choice. I was really well warmed up from chorus rehearsal, and the song was in a good range for me. I think it was a strong performance. I was one of several women asked to stay to sing more and read from the script, which I took as a good sign. We all got to sing "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" from the show, and it was an easy song for me to belt and really shine. Still, there were some really strong singers there, so there's no telling if I will get a part. If I do get a speaking role, it will probably be as a teenager. I guess for once it is advantageous that I look much younger than I am. :) I have to keep checking the website to find out if I am cast, and it could be next weekend before they post the list. Have I ever mentioned how much I hate waiting???? It'll be worth it, of course, if I get even a spot in the chorus. But I am trying not to get my hopes up, since my record on recent auditions is 0 and 2.

Tomorrow, after my tiring weekend, the girls don't have school, so I get to work an 11.5 hour day. B had school in the morning, but once we pick him up, I am thinking of heading to the zoo with the kids. We haven't been in a while, we all love it, and it is an easy way to pass the day harmoniously. I think I will need that kind of no brainer after a weekend full of babysitting, making birthday presents (S loved the napkin rings and the ice cream bombe), cheering on my favorite teams, and putting my talents on the line. Speaking of which, it is about time for me to hit the sack!

today's project: rooting for the indomitable Red Sox and mouring the US Women's team loss

musing about: when I'll get to see the Meet Me In St. Louis cast list

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005