powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

September 04, 2003 - 7:23 p.m.

Q & A

Haven't done one of these in a long time, and I really liked this one. I got it from Bafley.

1. If you went crazy and decided to go on a mass killing spree, what song would you be listening to as you were pumping lead/tearing apart/stabbing your victims?

I can't even really imagine what it would be, but my wild guess is something like "19-2000" by Gorillaz.

2. Do you have a song that you can listen to that puts you in a better mood than you were in prior to listening to the song?

Gosh, there are lots. A few examples are Laura Branigan's "Gloria", "Galilieo" by the Indigo Girls, and the aforementioned "19-2000". Oh yeah, just about anything by Sum41.

3. What song is your "guilty pleasure"?

I love to sing along to just about anything by Shania Twain and Faith Hill. They are just fun songs!

4. Is there a song/songs that made you cry? What was it/were they?

Again, there are many. "And So It Goes" by Billy Joel is a key example. I'm not sure I have ever actually shed tears over "Hold Her Down" by Toad the Wet Sprocket, but I always feel like I should be crying when I hear it.

5. Name an artist you like that would surprise people who think they know you.

Probably Sum41. Their brand of peppy punk is as good a pick-me-up as caffeine. Plus, their lead singer reminds me of my little brother.

6. Is there a song you could never get sick of?

"Mercy Street" by Peter Gabriel. Even after hearing it about a zillion times, it still gives me chills!

7. Is there a song or band that you won't listen to because of the emotional turmoil that you're reminded of that surrounded you when you did listen to that song or band?

Not really. There have been songs I associated with certain people that I couldn't listen to during particularly emotional times, but none that I have given up permanently.

8. Describe one memory you have (off the top of your head) that surrounds a particular song, which will immediately pop into your head when you hear it, and name the song too.

One night in college, my friend Meg and I were literally skipping down the driveway from our dorm we were so hyper. It was a gorgeous night with a big, bright moon, and we both spontaneously started singing "Moondance" (Van Morrison) and cracked up. Now anytime I hear that cheesy song, I think of her and smile.

9. Name one CD you regret buying. Or owning.

I don't think there is one. I almost never buy a CD that I am not sure I will like.

10. Last but not least - Slap down lyrics from ONE song that would best describe you and/or your feelings in general (don't take a lot of time to think about it, it can just be how you're feeling right now). Note who it's by, what song, and album.

"Butterflies", Toad the Wet Sprocket, from Fear

(I saw something

gigantic

out on the water

I asked my dad for a nickel

He gave it to me

It was kind of misty

I couldn't be sure what it was

And of course, he wouldn't tell me)

in time i will collect the world

the eggs and wings of butterflies i love the wings

of butterflies

a man drove up in an ugly car

and he flashed his lights at everything he saw

and his eyes were red

and his stereo was so loud you couldn't hear the engine's roar

and he yelled at everybody in the road

and did not notice all the moths he'd massacred

spread across the open road

(weird when you get close

to something that BIG

you can't see anything at all...)

in time i will

collect the world

the eggs and wings of you who fall on

butterflies calvary

had you wings of i give my children

butterflies

a moth had settled upon his arm and he looked at it with a lazy eye

and he lifted up a gigantic hand

and he spread his fingers towards the sky

and he nudged the moth to make it fly away

but moths are fragile things

and he just wiped its ody down across his shoulder blade

he's a wonder, he's a little black-wing boy

oh my daughters

he'll fill you with joy

in time i will

collect the world

the hearts and limbs of

butterflies you who soar o'er

calvary

had you wings of

butterflies oh father, i offer

butterflies

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005