powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

July 26, 2003 - 10:46 p.m.

What the $#@*%^! Was I Thinking?

Why didn't one of you tell me I was off my rocker? Six Flags in July? On a Saturday? After a week of rain? Ugh. I'll never make that mistake again! What a mob scene. We got a bit of a late start, partly because the friend I was going with is not a morning person. There was tons of traffic as we approached the park, which slowed us down a lot, and we had to park way at the end of the overflow lot. It was about 3PM when we were in our swimwear and ready to hit the waterslides. The lines were awful, which I had expected, but I hadn't been expecting such a late arrival. The slides were great, but neither of us wanted to be out late, so we only had a few hours at the park. The vast majority of that time was spent waiting in line. Ick. Luckily it wasn't that hot.

I didn't have a terrible time, but it was definitely the least pleasant Six Flags experience I have had. Heath and I certainly had plenty of time to catch up on all that is going on in our respective lives! If I hadn't gotten discounted tickets from AAA, I would have felt the trip was a big waste of time and money.

Sam will be in town in August for our friends' wedding, and we are hoping to take the kids to Six Flags the following Monday. Hopefully on a Monday the park will be much less crowded. It'll be an ambitious outing, but with Sam to help out, I think it will be really fun. Of course, we have to hope that the weather cooperates. A cloudy day would be fine, and might even ensure short lines. An isolated rain shower or two would be tolerable. Thunderstorms or a cool day would suck, though. Keep your fingers crossed for us.

today's project: fighting the amusement park crowds

musing about: how many thousands of people were with us at the park

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005