powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

July 25, 2003 - 10:23 a.m.

A Pirate's Life For Me!

I keep forgetting to write about Pirates of the Caribbean! I saw it last Sunday after we returned from New Hampshire. My friend Millie and I decided to see a matinee and then grab some dinner so as to extend the pleasant weekend.

The movie was awesome! I really, really enjoyed it. The sword fights were beautifully choreographed and had me oohing and ahing all over the place. Orlando Bloom was too gorgeous to believe. I found it amusing, though, that he resembled Cary Elwes so much, while Keira Knightley could be Natalie Portman's twin. Anyway, I loved the effects and scenery and the plot had plenty of surprises. It was one of those movies that seemed much shorter than it actually was (about 2.5 hours with previews and all), which, I think, is the hallmark of having been truly transported by the film. So, if you are looking for a great way to spend an idle afternoon or evening, get out there and see it! It is also a movie that, I am sure, is much better on the big screen, so don't just wait for the video to come out!

The weather has finally taken a turn for the better here. Hooray! I am not sure what I will do today, though hanging out by the pool with my book sounds appealing. I must go to the gym, and I really should go shopping for a dress to wear to the wedding I am attending in a couple weeks. Sam will be a groomsman, and I cannot wait to see him in a tux. :) I often like to shop, but I usually have a terrible time when I actually need to find something specific. I either cannot find something I like, or I can't find anything that fits my wonky, short-waisted, petite, pear-shaped frame.

Tomorrow, I am going to Six Flags to brave the crowds and the possibility of heat stroke (highs in the 90s) to enjoy the waterslides. If it's crowded, I will probably stick to the water park section for pretty much the whole day, but I am sure I will endure the lines for the Mind Eraser (a loopy, suspended coaster) and Flashback (which is similarly loopy, but you go through forwards then backwards as well). You couldn't get me on the famous Superman Ride of Steel to save my life, though. Just looking at the height and grade of that thing terrifies me! It's 20 stories tall and reaches speeds up to 80mph. Sam went on it once without me and loved it, but I don't like the steep drops of the more traditional roller coaster layout. I prefer twists, turns, and loops. I can't entirely explain why, but I think it has something to do with the feeling of floating up off my seat. The loopy coasters' centrifugal force actually pins you into your seat, and I think I feel safe that way.

Anyhow, unless I want to spend the weekend sitting here on the couch with my computer, I should end here. :)

today's project: dress shopping and getting out and making some Vitamin D.

musing about:what to do at the gym today.

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005