powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 24, 2003 - 8:35 p.m.

Moody Me

I kind of feel sorry for the kids I work with today. I was pretty moody. Maybe it's because I am still not entirely myself after being sick. Maybe it's the stress of having to keep three kids happy and occupied for almost twelve hours a day. Who knows? At any rate, I couldn't seem to keep a good mood for more than half an hour today. To my own credit, I never caved and turned on the TV or a video to entertain them. Instead I sucked it up and played board games with them and did an art project and even took them candlepin bowling. We all pretty much sucked, but we had a good time anyway.

Last night's American Idol elimination show was gratifying. I found myself astonished that my three favorite "idols" were also the top vote-getters this week. Generally, I have very little faith in the general public's taste, which is one reason I was reluctant to get involved in watching the show to begin with. But "America" has now voted off pretty Carmen and Kimberly C in favor of geeky Clay, rotund Ruben, and not emaciated Kimberly L. All three of the forerunners have talent oozing from their pores as well as their own very unique personalities. Not one of them fits the typical pop star mold, and that makes me love them even more. I remember Simon saying early on in the season that this season's show would be interesting because there were a lot of contestants with amazing voices and a lot with amazing looks but few with both. I am pleasantly surprised to see that things are swinging in the direction of talent rather than looks. That said, the stylists have done incredible things with both Clay and Kimberly!

My favorite Red Sox pitcher, Derek Lowe, sucked really badly today. This makes me very sad. I've been a fan of his for a few years, and this season is not looking good for him so far. On the bright side, the Sox are 14-7 so far this season. Not too shabby at all.

That's enough rambling from me for one day!

tonight's project:scrapbooking and watching home improvement shows

musing about:why I have put off this scrapbooking for SO long

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005