powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

March 09, 2003 - 6:11 p.m.

Miscellaneous Day

I partook of an interesting hodgepodge of activities today.

First, I spent the morning working my way through several of the HTML Primers at htmlgoodies.com. They are great for explaining the basics of HTML and have made me much more confident that I can manipulate the basics for text and images. Next I plan to move on to the tutorials for backgrounds, color, etc. Hopefully in a week or so, I will know enough to spruce up this page a bit! I have all sorts of ideas, but not enough know-how yet. Anyone know where I can find some bird images? I'd like to find some to use as part of a title banner and/or replacements for the various links on the page.

Then I went to the gym. I really had to force myself to go, but I really want to get in better shape. I've gained a bit of flab and lost some muscle since the fall. And tomorrow I have the appointment with the volunteer director at the hospital so I won't be able to get a workout in.

After doing my time on the elliptical trainer, I headed into Boston to try on bridesmaid dresses. Next winter, my good friend Meg is getting married and has asked me to be a bridesmaid. She lives in New Mexico and the wedding will be in Philadelphia and I am here in MA, so confering on bridesmaid dresses is a bit complicated. Meg, her sister, and another bridesmaid went out last weekend and she had them try on lots of dresses. Today, my job was to try on three dresses that are final candidates. It was kind of fun, since I like any opportunity to put on a fancy dress. :) The dresses were all very similar and quite simple so I am not overwhelmingly in favor of any particular one of them. I think I liked the off the shoulder model best, though. We'll see what Meg ends up deciding.

This weekend I have been watching a ton of home improvement shows. From Trading Spaces and While You Were Out to The Painted House and Ground Force. It really makes me wish I had a home to paint, decorate, renovate, and organize. I think I have done a good job with my big room and my bathroom, but I am pretty limited. In my room, there is a fair bit of space but tons of furniture to pack into it. And I just have too much stuff to properly fit here, so it's useless trying to make it look nice and organized, because there isn't enough storage for everything.

Someday I will have a house and I imagine I will go wild with home improvement projects. Trying out painting techniques, making built in shelves, and revamping flea market furniture all sound like great fun to me. It's the perfect marriage of the creative and frugal parts of my personality. Heaven help anyone who has to live with me when these daydreams of interior decorating are put to use!

today's project: learning HTML and stuffing myself into satin gowns

musing about: how I would decorate my dream house

Twitter away!

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005