powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

July 28, 2004 - 8:05 p.m.

Logic and Rhetoric

Before I get into my political thoughts inspired by the DNC, I must share an amusing anecdote that sheds light on the inner workings of a child's brain. This afternoon, B was asked by someone if he has any pets. He mentioned the dog and the cat, then the hedgehog. He then added that the hedgehog is mine, but "we bought it." Huh? I promptly informed him that, actually, I had purchased Percy. He says, "But you drive the Jeep, and it is yours, but Mom and Dad bought it and get to keep it." Aha! Apparently the kid has the impression that things referred to as mine are all purchased by his parents, and therefore ultimately belong to the family, since the car I drive belongs to them but is referred to as mine. As I continued to argue that Percy really does belong to me, since I got him before I came to work for the family, I paid for him, etc, it became clear that B's feat of logic was motivated by the wish that Percy was his. He apparently thinks I should leave the hedgehog here if I ever quit. He even went so far as to say that Percy wouldn't be mine if I died. I agreed, and B declared that he wished I would. Ouch. Luckily, I know better than to take these things personally!

Now, prepare yourselves for two phenomena virtually unheard of in Little Bird land - political discourse and cynicism! Like so many, I found Barack Obama's speech for the Democratic Convention moving and meaningful, but I must be getting cynical, because it didn't leave me totally inspired. I agree wholeheartedly with his sentiments, hopes, and ideals as expressed in the speech, and the optimist in me felt a kinship with his words. My practical side, though, was left asking,"How?"

How do we "eradicate the slander that says a black youth with a book is acting white"?

How do we create "an America where all Americans can afford the same health coverage our politicians in Washington have for themselves"?

"I believe we can give our middle class relief and provide working families with a road to opportunity.

I believe we can provide jobs to the jobless, homes to the homeless, and reclaim young people in cities across America from violence and despair."

How?

I know that Obama's speech was meant more to inspire and arouse than to inform, but this is a part of politics that always makes me uneasy. It's easy to get swept up in the rhetoric carefully crafted by the speech writers. But how much of it is heartfelt? And how much of the idealism, how many of the promises will remain once the candidate is in office? I guess I want more specifics so that elected officials can be held accountable once in office. If a candidate promises to try to solve the health care crisis, he can interpret that promise in whatever way is convenient to his own agenda once he's elected. "No Child Left Behind" is a great slogan, but the nitty gritty of the laws is not nearly as charming. I guess I feel somwhat betrayed by the current administration's policies in light of the campaign promises of a "compassionate Conservative", and I am unwilling to flee blindly in the other direction. Kerry is the only viable alternative, but I refuse to get excited about my vote for him without hearing about exactly how he intends to govern differently than W.

That said, Obama's speech did get my attention, and I hope his policies (and Kerry's) prove as uplifting as his words. And this: "Hope in the face of difficulty, hope in the face of uncertainty, the audacity of hope." nearly made me a believer in the face of all that cynicism. It was, I must admit, a beautiful speech. I loved it, I just want to see more than words. As the old adage goes, don't just tell me; showme. Sure, all the Democrats say Kerry is going to be a better President than Bush, but I need to know exactly how.

Twitter away!

epiph - 2004-07-29 17:39:08
Glad my comments riled a bit. I'm overplaying it a bit because the roommate is a huge Red Sox fan, and I always chide him for it. Believe me, I get it back twice as hard for being a Tigers fan. Anyhow, it's nice to see such dedication, I have to admit.
-------------------------------

flutter back - fly ahead

Lone Star Rising - June 08, 2005
Quiet Time - June 02, 2005
Holy Interviews, Batman! - May 23, 2005
Addled Little Bird Brains - May 01, 2005
Just the lift I needed. - April 22, 2005